Days 1 & 2

by lauraeglen

Well, so far so good. My roommate reminded me today that there are only 7 weeks and 5 days left. It’s going so fast!

Ha.

Yesterday I went home to my parents house and got to hang out with my aunts and grandma who flew in from San Diego. They were curious about the WLC and supportive of my participation, which was great. I’ve been on my dad about trying CrossFit for a while, and  I think the video on my last post pushed him a little closer. Baby steps… I ate dinner with the fam and then watched them all eat dessert, which wasn’t as excruciating as I had expected 😉

Today was a mellow Sunday full of cooking and studying. One of the benefits of not working retail anymore is all of the FREEDOM I have on the weekends. TWO WHOLE DAYS to structure however I want. Granted, that structure is mostly Chemistry/Physics/Genetics at the moment, but still. It’s glorious. I do what I want.

The morning started off with a spaghetti squash egg bake from PaleOMG. I thought it would be a good idea to make something for breakfast that could give me leftovers for a couple of days this week. The recipe took forever (~1.5 hours) to make, so I was glad that it came out pretty well. I’m not sure I’d make it again… But it was good to learn the lesson that I should probably stick to recipes that take less than an hour from start to finish (otherwise the hangry sets in, and no one wants that).

My goal is to do major cooking only twice a week-Sundays and Wednesdays. I love cooking all of these new things, but it’s really nice to have leftovers to reheat when I come home from school/CrossFit during the week.

For lunch I whipped up these bad boys: Pizza Stuffed Sweet Potatoes a la Health-Bent. This blog is definitely one of my favorites, I have a feeling this recipe will work its way into my weekly rotation. Easy, quick, and ridiculously good. I can’t wait to have one again tomorrow. Dinner was simple and consisted of breakfast leftovers with tomatillo salsa on top.

I’m going to start taking pictures of my meals to add here, so I’ll do my best to make everything look palatable. Also, I realize reading three paragraphs about what I ate on a particular day will probably get old pretty quick… but never fear, I’m working on some good stuff. Off to do a little yoga before bed…

